How to Permanently Wipe Files on Local History

Watch this video to learn how to permanently wipe files on history with BCWipe.

Download BCWipe
Learn more about BCWipe

Permanently Wipe Files on History - How to Video

In this video tutorial, we’ll show you how to permanently wipe files on history with BCWipe.

BCWipe can help you get rid of recently used file names, known as 'Most Recently Used' or MRU lists. For example, BCWipe can clear a list of recently opened MS Word documents. This will prevent others from determining what documents you were working on. It will also help you get rid of files in Windows Temp and Recycle Bin folders for good.

Open BCWipe Task Manager – Click on the 'Tasks' menu, select 'Create new task' and then select 'Wipe Local History'.

The wiping task will remove all restore points created by Windows, These restore points contain shadow copies of deleted files. This message only appears if you have existing restore points. Click 'OK'. Select the applications and folders where you want to remove history. If you are using an SSD drive, you will be prompted to run wipe freespace afterwards. Click 'Search Registry of other History'. BCWipe scans the registry for keywords like 'Recent File List', 'History', or 'MRU'. Check the 'History of other programs' if you want to select all of them, or select the ones you want to wipe.

Now go ahead and click on the 'Schedule' tab.

Here you can set the starting time for the wiping task and its recurrence. Apart from the regular scheduling you can also select the task to start 'At user Logon', 'At Startup' or 'At User Logoff/Shutdown'. Next, click on the 'Wipe options' tab.

Under the 'Wipe options' tab you can select from the 14 different wiping schemes. Below the Wiping Scheme section, you can see the option for 'File' and 'Directory slacks'. File slack is the disk space from the actual end of a file up to the end of the last cluster used by the file. The space may contain data from files written there previously. Directory slacks may also contain names of the deleted files, as well as other deleted data. Check 'Directory Slacks' if you want to get rid of this unwanted data. MFT or Master File Table is a reserved space on an NTFS disk, where the file system stores names and attributes of files. Small files may reside entirely inside MFT. It is recommended to enable this option for complete security. NTFS is a journaling file system and uses the NTFS Log to record temporary data for all files you were working with. Transactions log file is used to restore the file system in case of a failure. Click on the 'Logfile' tab.

Check 'Use log file' if you want to have a logfile afterwards. Logfiles can be viewed in LogView or Notepad. Now go ahead and click 'OK'.

If the tasks start time has passed, then select the task and click on the play button. This will start the process immediately.

CONGRATULATIONS! You have successfully wiped your local history with BCWipe. Thank you for watching! We hope you will be satisfied with our software.