How to Use Transparent Wiping to Automatically Wipe Selected Files with BCWipe

In this video you will find detailed instructions on how to use Transparent Wiping to automatically wipe selected files with BCWipe.

Download BCWipe
Learn more about BCWipe

Use Transparent Wiping to Automatically Wipe Selected Files - How-to Video

In this video tutorial, we’ll show you how to use Transparent Wiping to automatically erase all traces of deleted files or temporary files beyond recovery.

While using different applications, editing a document, or browsing a website, all sorts of information about your work is being written to or deleted from the disk without your knowledge. Many applications create temporary files, cache objects or other special system files that may contain sensitive information. This information may still reside on your disk after being deleted. BCWipe Transparent Wiping ensures these files are securely erased on the fly without you worrying about them. It will also wipe the files emptied from your recycle bin. This feature gives you complete peace of mind by making sure that no data remanence is left behind.

So, what is actually being erased by Transparent Wiping?

Here are five common examples:

  • First, all files and folders that are deleted using normal commands
  • Second, temporary files deleted by Windows applications and by Windows itself
  • Third, data stored in the Windows Restore Point when the Restore Point is deleted
  • Fourth, data stored in the Recycle Bin when clicking Empty Recycle Bin
  • ​​​​​​​And finally, you can configure a list to include or exclude only a specific types of files, folders or applications

Open BCWipe Task Manager – Click on the ‘Tasks’ menu, select ‘Create new Task’ and then select ‘Transparent Wiping’.

Here you can see the status of the task such as active or paused and view the version of the driver. If you want to select the default settings, then keep ‘Predefined configurations’ checked, and select the level of wiping. You can exclude Windows update files, or files deleted by anti-virus. If you want to manually include and exclude files and applications, then click ‘Manual Configuration’. Here you can add files, folders or certain patterns that you want to include or exclude for wiping. To test if a specific application is included or not, click ‘Test Application’ and then select an application.  

To test if the specific file is included or not, click ‘Test existing file’. You can also exclude files and applications directly by using the search function, click ‘Auto configure’, and then ‘Scan’. Click Ok when you are done. 

Let’s move on to the ‘Wipe options’ tab. 

Under the 'Wipe options' tab you can select from 14 different wiping schemes. Below the Wiping Scheme section, you can see the option for File slack checked. File slack is the disk space from the actual end of a file up to the end of the last cluster used by the file. The space may contain data from files written there earlier. MFT, or Master File Table, is a reserved space on an NTFS disk, where the file system stores names and attributes of files. Small files may reside inside MFT completely. It is recommended to enable this option for complete security. 

Next, click on the Logfile tab. 

Check ‘Use log file’ if you want to have a logfile afterwards. Logfiles can be viewed in LogView or Notepad. 

Now go ahead and click ‘OK’. 

CONGRATULATIONS! You have successfully learned how to run Transparent Wiping with BCWipe. Thank you for watching! We hope you will be satisfied with our software.