Using the Virtual Drives

To keep your data in encrypted form, you should store it in a container and access this container by mounting it to a virtual drive and opening the virtual drive by using the password for that specific container.

Files stored on an opened virtual drive can be used by any other application in a transparent manner without the need to decrypt them before you run the application (see the chapter Basic Concepts for more information.)

When you create a container, you specify the description, filename, size, type of encryption and the physical drive that will hold the container. Description is any text used for identification of the container. Filename is a name (without path) that will be used for the container. Size is the amount of physical drive occupied by the container. You may choose the encryption algorithm that BestCrypt will use to encrypt the data stored in the container.

You can create as many containers as you want. Each container can be mounted to a virtual drive to obtain access to data stored in the container as it would be on a regular disk drive. BestCrypt Control Panel will ask for the password for the container.

When a virtual drive is opened, you can use it like a regular disk. It is encrypted, but for all your actions it acts like a disk without any limitations. You can store your files on it as well as run any applications.

When you close a virtual drive, BestCrypt “forgets” the encryption key, the virtual drive letter escapes from the list of available disks, and access becomes impossible. When a virtual drive is closed, no one can read the data stored on it.

NOTE: You should take into account that when you move your sensitive files from conventional disks to BestCrypt logical disks, the operating system will not erase these files' contents from the source disk - it will delete only 'references' to the files in the File Allocation Table. Contents of the deleted file (or the file’s ‘body’) continue to be stored on the disk and may be restored easily using any disk tool utility.

To make it impossible to restore deleted files from your disk, you should run a wiping utility to erase information from the physical disk sectors. For example, you may run the Move With Source Wiping command for that purpose. For more information about using the BestCrypt Wipe utility, read a separate help documentation for the BCWipe utility.

See also: