When you delete sensitive files from a disk on your computer, the operating system does not erase the contents of those files from the disk -- it only deletes references to the files from file-system tables. Contents of the deleted file (or file's body) remain on the disk and can be recovered by a forensic analyst.
Wiping is a term used to describe a process of shredding the contents of a file or of disk space. It is impossible to restore data that has been properly wiped.
BCWipe Total WipeOut Enterprise is a powerful solution for erasing whole drives securely. BCWipe Total WipeOut Enterprise can wipe all hard drives on the computer, including the drive on which the operating system is installed. It destroys the contents of whole hard drives, including partition tables, boot records, file-system structures, operating system files and user files.
From the BCWipe Total WipeOut Enterprise user console, you can: