Commands

Scroll down to learn more about each feature

 

Delete With Wiping

Delete with wiping is used to completely overwrite a group of files and/or folders and, optionally, their names and slacks and delete them without any possibility of restoring them later. Special care will be taken to also remove any alternative data forks and extended attributes of the file.

 

Wipe Free Space

This is necessary to ensure that data remnants left by your Mac when you simply deleted the files before are completely gone from your system. Optionally, BCWipe can wipe file slacks of all files on the chosen drive before wiping actual free space. Click Wipe Free Space button on Task Manager toolbar or control-click a disk icon on your desktop and select BCWipe: Wipe free space item in Finder services menu.

 

Wipe Disk Drive

When any of the internal or external disks you have been using for a long time need to be disposed of don't just delete files or format them - use BCWipe to completely erase them instead. This way you can be absolutely sure that not a single byte of information can leak to the subsequent owners of this disk.

 

Wipe Trash

This command allows you to conveniently delete all files and folders moved to Trash but not yet deleted. Essentially this is the same as Delete with wiping but with a shortcut to locate all files currently in Trash and dispose of them securely.

 

Tools

 

BCWipe Task Manager

BCWipe Task Manager is a central BCWipe application to manage wiping tasks and options. With task manager you can control all current wiping tasks, collect logging information, create new wiping tasks and configure wiping options.

 

Log Viewer

BCWipe Log Viewer is a special utility built into BCWipe to view detailed information about completed and still running wiping tasks. You can view the log of any task that is currently displayed in BCWipe Task Manager by clicking the View Task Log button located on the view of the task in question.